top of page
Search
Writer's pictureShravani Thota

Route No. 6


Bus waited at Ranigunj, an eight year old me looked over a bunch of high schoolers sitting in the last seats of the school bus - "Saawariya ah ah ah aaah, saawariya ah ah ah aaah, Saawariyaaa.. Oo saawariya! " Oh what fun! Remember the debates on "Om Shanti Om" Vs "Saawariya"? All girls gushing over Ranbir <3 Only then the IPL's first season was announced and all of the city that made way to my school carried posters of teams. As trains ran over the James Street Bridge, I remember my bus-mates go wohoo looking at the biggest poster I had ever seen in my life. It was that of Sachin playing for MI. 6:30 am it would be when our bus left Jain Mandir. Our driver bhaiyya was probably nineteen at the time. When that one teacher missed school, our bus would've become a disco hall, our bhaiyya would enjoy behind the wheel while the sun was still lazy to shine on us. I would look out of the window as cold breeze blew at my face and my baby hair flew recklessly. Oh how our hearts got happy when it was known we'd drive a little speedier that day. I was never a part of the main scene, I would sit by the window and smile. Then an observer, now an observer. I wonder where all the older kids went, what would Khalid bhaiyya be doing for a living now. How many of them are still in the city? 2008 it was.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page